66 Steps

20150823_183929                         20150823_191900

So I emerged on the other side of last December a few pounds heavier than I would like to admit. Enter January and the extra helpings of succulent ham and rich Jamaican fruitcake suddenly seemed to have been a terrible idea, leading me to the somewhat depressing conclusion that I needed to do a complete overhaul of my diet/ exercise routine (again, sigh). Truth be told, I’m the kind of person who means to do well when it comes to exercising but my attempts have always been sporadic at best.

Whenever I can, though, I try to include the Queen’s Staircase as part of my exercise plan. If you want a great workout, trust and believe you have to take on 66 Steps as it is more fondly called by Nasuvians. This 102 foot staircase which was carved out of solid limestone between 1793-94 is located in the Downtown area of Nassau. There is no charge to access the area by the way.

On my last visit, a gentleman from Bennet’s Hill, the community that you enter when you get to the top of the staircase, asked if I was going to do my full 10 sets going up and down. I don’t remember how many sets I have done in one go in the past- I just worked out until I couldn’t do anymore, but anyway since he mentioned 10, I assumed that’s the number to live up to.

10? Of course mi can do dat!

He’s now mildly curious because of my Jamaican accent and my use of patois I guess, although that’s not such an uncommon thing here in Nassau.

You a yaadie aye?

Yeah.

And I start back down the steps. To be honest 10 sets didn’t seem so hard in theory but I can tell you the panting, leg cramps and stabbing side pain kicked in long before I reached the top of the steps for the last time. All of this although I had made it my point of duty to warm up before I started. No man! This workout dash it pon mi without warning! Truth be told, I was left feeling sweaty but accomplished at the end of it all. Of course, I made all kinds of promises to go back the following week but I just haven’t gotten around to it.

Still, if you are in Nassau and want to keep up with your fitness routine give 66 steps a try. You will get a workout in a cool, shady area with trees on either side of the staircase, and as an added perk you will be treated to the lovely sounds of birds that inhabit the area- Pura Vida!

20150823_185247

 

20150823_184156-1

2 responses to “66 Steps

  1. As Lao Tzo aptly puts it, the journey of a thousand miles begins with the first step. Making all of 66 several times is a start. Keep pushing until you reach your requisite goal. Determination is key and being intentional about the intake becoming a lifestyle. The very best,

    *Maria Hamilton, MSc.* *Published Author: A Snack of Love, A Bite of Success – Amazon.com or iUniverse.com; http://www.asnackoflove.com *

    We are made or unmade by ourselves. By our thoughts, we forge the weapons by which we can destroy ourselves. *James Allen* *Let’s regulate our thoughts! (2016)*

    On 15 April 2016 at 22:21, Pura Vida: Pure Life wrote:

    > Chicajamaicana posted: ” So I emerged on the > other side of last December a few pounds heavier than I would like to > admit. Enter January and the extra helpings of succulent ham and rich > Jamaican fruitcake suddenly seemed to have been a terrible idea, lea” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

